What’s an Answer Song (or an Answer Record)?

by Administrator 22. August 2013 12:45

What’s an Answer Song (or an Answer Record)?

“An answer song” is any song made as an answer to another song (usually a recorded track), normally by a different artist or group. It’s also known as a “response song.” Answer-themed songs became more and more widespread in R&B and blues throughout the 1930s and ‘50s. A bit later, they began cropping up in country music.

Examples of Popular Answer Songs

1.      “Boys, Boys, Boys” was an answer song by Lady Gaga (2008), in response to “Girls, Girls, Girls” by the Mötley Crüe (1987)

2.      "Yes, I'm Lonesome Tonight" was an answer song by Dodie Stevens (1960), in response to Elvis Presley's “Are You Lonesome Tonight?” (1960)

3.      "I’ll Save The Last Dance For You" was an answer song by Damita Jo, in response to “Save The Last Dance For Me” (1960) by The Drifters

4.      The ever-popular "Sweet Home Alabama” by Lynyrd Skynyrd (1974) was actually a response to Neil Young's “Southern Man” (1970) and “Alabama” (1972)

5.      A well-known answer song from the ‘90s: “The Boy Is Mine” by Brandy and Monica; in response to “The Girl Is Mine” (1982) by Michael Jackson (feat. Paul McCartney)

We sell answer records! For a comprehensive list, click here.

Important Note About Our Vintage Records

Vintage is not another word for “used” – it simply means the record is older. Our vintage records are not used.

If you have any questions, feel free to email us at info@parkersrc.com, stop by, or call us at (513) 575-3665.


Top 5 Most Popular Comic Books of All Time

by Administrator 9. July 2013 17:32


Pretty much everyone has heard of these comic book giants, and many have read them (or at least seen the adaptations on the big screen), but not many people know which is the most popular when it comes to the comic books and comic series: is it Avengers, Batman or X-Men? Read on to find out!

1.       Astonishing X-Men: This title is the name for the collective X-Men comic book series from Marvel. The first two in the series were limited editions. The series had its debut in 2004. The collective series have many writers and artists, including (but not limited to) Warren Ellis with art by Phil Jimenez; Daniel Way and Christos Gage.

2.       Justice League of America (JLA): This comic published by DC first appeared in issue #28 of The Brave and the Bold in 1960. The League was originally comprised of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, Aquaman, Flash and the Martian Manhunter.

3.       New Avengers: This Marvel comic title has been used for three comic book series. The first two comics were written by Brian Michael Bendis. The third series is currently written by Jonathan Hickman, and the group of characters are called the Illuminati.

4.       Batman: This character has been featured in many limited series, ongoing series, various series and graphic novels, dating as far back as the 1940s. Popular Batman spin-offs and other major titles include The Brave and the Bold, Robin, Nightwing, and Batman and Robin.

5.       The Amazing Spider-Man: Spider-Man actually began his debut publication in 1963, featured as a monthly periodical. It was re-launched with new purpose (and new numbering order) in 1999. The character was created by writer and editor Stan Lee.

Compare the all-time list with what’s the most popular now
(Top 10 comics of May 2013):

  1. X-Men #1
  2. Batman #20
  3. Justice League #20
  4. Age of Ultron #7
  5. Age of Ultron #8
  6. Superior Spider-Man #9
  7. Superior Spider-Man #10
  8. Justice League of America #3
  9. All New X-Men #11
  10. Detective Comics #20


About the author

Something about the author

Month List

Page List